In 8 months, I’ll be graduating from the University of British Columbia with a degree in Physics and Computer Science. I’ll be looking for jobs shortly thereafter, armed with a résumé to convince future employers that I am an amazing iOS developer. Hootsuite will be at the top of my ‘Work Experience’ section, along with a list of the various technologies I used and the tasks I was assigned. It’ll probably look something like this:

Hootsuite – iOS Developer Co-op


January – August 2014



Worked with Xcode 5 and 6, Objective-C, Swift, and iOS 6, 7, and 8. Contributed to new features and bug fixes for the Hootsuite app, and helped it become featured in the iOS App Store. Gave presentations, collaborated with teammates, and wrote automated tests using KIF. Used Facebook, Twitter, and Google APIs, communication patterns such as KVO, delegation, and notification, and Interface Builder with auto-layout.

All of this is very exciting, and will serve me well in my job hunt. However, my time at Hootsuite consisted of many more experiences than those in the list above. If I wrote them all on a résumé, I’d get some very puzzled looks from interviewers; it would be a giant wall of text containing some highly unusual things.

Chief among the oddities would probably be Quidditch. Shortly after I arrived, some enterprising Harry Potter fans decided Hootsuite needed our own Muggle Quidditch team. I signed up immediately after hearing of it, and spent many of my Tuesdays and Thursdays in the summer running around with a broom in one hand and a slightly-deflated volleyball in the other. Our team, which we named Hedwig’s Army, ended up taking on several local companies and schools in some hotly contested matches. We even beat my university’s team – I felt like a bit of a traitor.

Hedwig's Army, the Hootsuite Quidditch Team (photo by Desiree dela Rosa)


If I could, I’d also include mention of #Hootcamp, our 350-person, weekend long company party in Manning Park. It was unlike any work event I’ll ever go to. Some of the highlights included space-age costumes, musical guests, limousines, canoe trips, World Cup viewing parties, and playing frisbee with the CEO. I came home that Sunday night exhausted, sunburnt, and thrilled to have been able to participate.

#hootcamp canoes!


All these side activities didn’t make the work I was doing at Hootsuite any less interesting; in fact, I was able to grow from knowing next to nothing about iOS development to reaching a decent level of competency. I was treated like a bona-fide team member every step of the way, and was given important and challenging projects. However, the most vital part about the company is the fact that it has created a working environment where fun is second only to getting the job done. I’m fortunate to have been able to intern at Hootsuite, and with any luck, I’ll be providing them with a copy of my aforementioned résumé in the near future.

About the author: Leo is going into the final year of his undergrad at UBC, where he studies physics and computer science. He loves singing, living in residence, Objective-C, and is the proud owner of a Thuggie. Follow him on Twitter: @leogtm

Hootsuite is hiring! Check out our Careers Page!